Discuss all of the intricacies of the jacket in full detail

Moderators: Indiana Jeff, Mike, Indydawg

LostRaider25
Laboratory Technician
Laboratory Technician

Distressing Goatskin tips?

Post by LostRaider25 »

Hi guys!

I currently own a custom raiders in goatskin from wested and I was curious on how to distress it. It's literally a shield of a jacket. Simple methods on distressing lambskin wouldn't show some patina on the goat. Would appreciate some tips on how to distress it easily.

Quite tough and difficult to have the "worn in look", but it does serve its purpose for being a tough yet soft jacket to wear. Have worn it during treks and caves and it kept me comfortable and safe. An adventure jacket for sure.

Thank you in advance!
Cajunkraut

Re: Distressing Goatskin tips?

Post by Cajunkraut »

Goatskin is pretty much bombproof as a jacket material as you mentioned.

While I'm no leather expert, I do know that distressing goat relies on whether the skin is chrome or vegetable tanned.

Chrome tanned goat doesn't distress the "traditional" way. If the finish shows wear at all, it's usually as white or greyish scratches or scuffs. Beyond that, chromed goat just acquires more wrinkling/grain and relaxes with age and use. Search pics of vintage military-issue Navy G-1 jackets to see what I mean. I randomly sleep in mine and sleep with/store it unzipped and balled up in an old soft cotton pillowcase to accelerate the process.

Veg tanned goat distresses normally with light brown leather gradually starting to show through worn areas. This is probably the result you're looking for. The distressing gurus will probably weigh in and a forum search should also yield plenty of tips.

Good luck! :TOH:
Indiana Croft
Legendary Adventurer
Legendary Adventurer
Location: In Marakesh looking for that Idol. Or some where in N.H.

Post by Indiana Croft »

Just my two cents.