Distressing a Shirt

Discuss technique for prolonging the life of your gear or giving it that aged look

Moderator: Dalexs

Zaphod
Archaeology Student
Archaeology Student

Distressing a Shirt

Post by Zaphod »

I am thinking about distressing my new WPG Indy shirt. I am looking to make it look like it has seen some adventures instead of brand new. I am going for a Raiders look.

I have read threads where people have used mineral oil, olive oil or glycerine to simulate sweat. But what about general dirt and wear? I have read that people have used tea staining to weather clothes for movies. Has anyone on the forum used this technique? Have you used other techniques to make the shirt dirty and worn? Rolling around in the dirt is an option but I am looking for something more permanent.

Thanks!
temple_runner
Archaeologist
Archaeologist

Re: Distressing a Shirt

Post by temple_runner »

If it was me (and I'm no distressing expert), and I was fine with leaving it dirty, I would tie it to my car bumper and dry around the block. You'd get the dirt, the small tears, likely some ruffles and wrinkles, for sure. It saves a lot of time actually distressing unless you like the diligent work of it.
WetDigger
Laboratory Technician
Laboratory Technician

Post by WetDigger »

I used this technique on several shirts and other articles I needed to look worn or well "broken in". Set the article aside in the laundry room, and let it ride along every time you run a load of laundry. After several cycles with clothing, shoes, bedding, towels and the like it will start to fade, abrade, and get a well used appearance without necessarily abusing it. It might take a couple weeks, but you will eventually get a shirt that is soft and has the look of being well worn yet is still perfectly wearable.
The Character
Archaeologist
Archaeologist

Post by The Character »

Screen costumers use a few techniques ..

you have a combination of - Long Term wear and Short term 'In the moment' wear.