Restoring milled Webley cylinders

Need help finding an Indy Gun, want to discuss film used guns...

Moderator: Cajunkraut

carebear
Laboratory Technician
Laboratory Technician

Restoring milled Webley cylinders

Post by carebear »

An Oklahoma gunsmithery is now in the process of restoring Webley cylinders milled down to fire .45 ACP to their original condition allowing .455 Webley to be fired.

http://www.truittandson.com/

I have no personal knowledge of the company and cannot endorse them but as this forum represents one of the most concentrated groups of Webley owners I'm aware of, I thought there might be some interest.
M1917
Laboratory Technician
Laboratory Technician

Re: Restoring milled Webley cylinders

Post by M1917 »

Interesting...I wonder how they plan to do it? The cylinders were shaved at the loading end. Are they going to cut a blank and weld it, then re-mill the cylinder? It sounds expensive. And any change (for good or ill) destroys the collector's value of the gun. Mine is just a shooter, and that's all I wanted. I look forward to seeing the photos and descriptions. Thanks for the info!
R/S
Fritz
IndianaSean
Laboratory Technician
Laboratory Technician

Post by IndianaSean »

Very interesting indeed. I would be curious how they do that as well. Easy to remove material, hard to put back. Hmm.... :-k

Sean
Solent MKIII
Museum Curator
Museum Curator
Location: Sharing living space with a near-sighted scrap pile

Post by Solent MKIII »

Interested in seeing the results of this myself. Seems like it would be easier ( albiet expensive ) to just machine out a new, replacement cylinder than go to all the work of welding and remachining the original. :-k Image
M1917
Laboratory Technician
Laboratory Technician

Post by M1917 »