Why an AB??

In-depth discussion of the Fedora of Indiana Jones and all other hats appearing in the Indiana Jones movies

Moderators: Indiana Jeff, Dalexs

darthbish
Dig Leader
Dig Leader

Why an AB??

Post by darthbish »

Let me say that right from the start, I mean no offense by asking this but I can't help but be curious.

What is the fascination with the AB over a Fed or Fed deluxe.

Is it perceived as being a better made had??...Is it more screen accurate??..or is it just that they got the job to make the hats for KotCS??

I'm the first to admit that I'm new to this whole thing, but as I look lovingly at my Fed, I find it hard to believe that there could be a better hat out there.

Let me know.
indyrocks
Archaeologist
Archaeologist

Post by indyrocks »

darthbish-

These hats are subjective. It depends on what you're looking for and what you mean by "better." Steve put a lot of research and painstaking nitpicking into achieving an accurate block to emulate the vintage Herbert Johnsons used in Raiders. He also uses more durable higher quality felt than what you'd find in an Akubra-plus it's beaver. With that said, maybe rabbit is what you prefer. Which is fine. If you like the Akubra and are satisfied with it than I would say stick to your guns. If you're looking for a hat that will last a VERY long time and is made of a more durable felt, the AB is a great (IMO the best) choice. Putting aside anything to do with KOTCS, Steve can make what is generally accepted as one of the most accurate Raiders hats available. BUT, if you feel like you've got the best you can get, again, stick with the Fed. Just remember, AB's are HANDMADE in the style of vintage fedoras with the highest quality. They may be worth a shot, just to see....

Cheers!
Heyjude7
Dig Leader
Dig Leader

Post by Heyjude7 »

no offense by me asking but how old is the oldest AB Beaver? How does one know how long this hat will last?
indyrocks
Archaeologist
Archaeologist

Post by indyrocks »