Where do you crack your whip?

From falls & poppers to plaiting & cracking technique, this section is dedicated in memory of Sergei, IndyGear Staff Member and Whip Guru. Always remember to keep "Celebratin' Life!"

Moderator: BullWhipBorton

indyroh
Dig Worker
Dig Worker

Where do you crack your whip?

Post by indyroh »

I've been wanting to ask this for a while: Where does everyone crack their whip?

I have a Joe Strain 10ft whip that I picked up off of ebay a little over a year ago and I crack it on my lawn and always seem to have to clean it really well, especially the fall, when I do so. I have been pondering (at the most) of possibly buying a David Morgan whip, which made me think that I would never crack it out on my lawn for fear of anything happening to it!
gi_canuck
Archaeologist
Archaeologist

Post by gi_canuck »

Nah, nothing's going to happen to your whip if you are cracking on your own lawn. I've been doing it in public soccer field for over 4 months now and nothing has happened to it yet. I am pretty sure your lawn would be more than sufficient for the cracking task!!
Cracker
Dig Leader
Dig Leader

Post by Cracker »

Lawn here also.
spigot
Grail Recovery Volunteer
Grail Recovery Volunteer

Post by spigot »

I crack my whip in an area thats about %70 covered with moss and weeds, the rest is dirt. Its the only area on this property big enough to crack on without getting tangled on bushes or trees.:lol: The end of the thong on my 8' nylon whip has gotten quite dirty and its only a few days old.:lol: I'll probably get a piece of that cheap green indoor/outdoor carpet to crack on when I get my leather whip. Got one coming from Gus Caicedo in a few weeks. :P
Strider
Legendary Adventurer
Legendary Adventurer

Post by Strider »

Public parks. I haven't ruined any of my whips yet.
IndianaBogart
Dig Leader
Dig Leader
Location: ...listening to a tinny piano playing in the parlor downstairs....

Post by IndianaBogart »