Wested and WPG shirt and trouser questions

Bags, Boots, Shirts and all other gear should be discussed here.

Moderators: Mike, Cajunkraut, Tennessee Smith

marker2037
Archaeologist
Archaeologist

Wested and WPG shirt and trouser questions

Post by marker2037 »

Hello guys, I am brand new to the forum here and I am looking into putting together a Raiders outfit for myself. I have some questions on your experience with either Wested or WPG in the shirt and trousers.

Which do you feel is the most accurate to Raiders Indy?

Let's start off with shirts....

For sizing, my best fitting shirts (from spierandmackay.com) are as follows:

Neck Fits Chest Fits Waist Chest Waist Shoulder Sleeve Length
16 1/2 43 38 45.5 41.5 19.25 36.0 31.0

Admittedly, these are more tailored, fitted shirts and I don't expect either the Wested of WPG to match the fit, but I don't want an overly boxy shirt either.

When I look at the WPG size chart, the M-L seems to be the shirt that matches best to the above measurements I wear, except for the 15.5 neck. I won't ever close the top button(s) so I'm not sure if that measurement matters though. The 16.5 neck size L seems like it would be a very boxy fit since the chest and waist are significantly bigger than what I typically wear.

As for Wested, I don't get their sizing chart entirely. They list a Medium as a 42 Chest with 16.75" neck and a Large as a 44 Chest, but with a 17.5" neck. I don't know whether the Chest measurements they list are measurements of the actual shirt or of a person's chest who should be wearing that size. I typically wear a 42R in jackets and have a 42" chest so I'm really confused by their size chart.

Onto trousers....

Which is the better quality? Are the WPG trousers a cavalry twill wool like the Wested?

Which is the best fitting?

I think I have the Wested sizing sorted out (I wear a 36 in almost all trousers I buy, only a few brands slightly smaller, but nothing larger.