100% Wool Fedora - Steam to the rescue

In-depth discussion of the Fedora of Indiana Jones and all other hats appearing in the Indiana Jones movies

Moderators: Indiana Jeff, Dalexs

Curtis Bessette
Dig Worker
Dig Worker

100% Wool Fedora - Steam to the rescue

Post by Curtis Bessette »

Good Day,

I hope all is well. I am a newbie and am acquiring some gear, on a budget. I purchased a Jaxon 100% wool fedora through Wested and have been steaming it with hat hardener to get a Raiders look:

https://scontent-ord1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hp ... JpIjoidCJ9

Not sure how to upload a pic here, so the URL is above.

I am happy how it is turning out, except for the brim. I have tried ironing it and also steaming it with a heavy dose of felt hat hardener. I am tempted to undo the sewn seam. Would I wreck the edge and make the brim droopy if I took out the edge stitching?

Blessings
Jeremiah
Expeditionary Hero
Expeditionary Hero

Re: 100% Wool Fedora - Steam to the rescue

Post by Jeremiah »

Welcome.

Guess you are doing the best you can do with what you have and I can certainly appreciate "indy on a budget", but I fear you will only truly be satisfied by getting a fine fur fedora in either rabbit or beaver. Only so much you can do with a wool fedora and that bound edge.

Saving up or selling a few things will get you there eventually. Good luck.
Last edited by Jeremiah on Thu Dec 24, 2015 9:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ridgerunner58
Dig Leader
Dig Leader
Location: Between the Edge of Nowhere and the Edge of Somewhere.

Post by Ridgerunner58 »

Looks pretty good for wool felt.

My advice, don't mess with the bound brim. It's not that the brim would end up "floppy" (it's supposed to be very floppy) but you'll never get it to look right. A hatter could trim it and make it clean, but better to put the money toward a custom. :TOH:
Curtis Bessette
Dig Worker
Dig Worker