New close enough boots from J Crew

Bags, Boots, Shirts and all other gear should be discussed here.

Moderators: Mike, Cajunkraut, Tennessee Smith

Mark Brody
Professor of Archaeology
Professor of Archaeology

New close enough boots from J Crew

Post by Mark Brody »

I stopped by J Crew today, and my wife spotted these. I was already wearing my boots from Todd Coyle, but I tried these on anyway. They were incredibly comfortable! Don't get me wrong, Todd's boots are accurate and well made, but considering how much more comfortable these were, I'd gladly overlook the few minor discrepancies in favor of the J Crew boots. At $200 on sale, the last pair was mine. I looked them up online later, and found that J Crew is also selling the Alden Indy boots (which I have no experience with).

https://www.jcrew.com/mens_category/sho ... /B2768.jsp" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Cajunkraut

Re: New close enough boots from J Crew

Post by Cajunkraut »

Wow!

If you hadn't let the cat outa the bag, I'd have sworn that they were just another Alden special run.
trancoss
Archaeology Student
Archaeology Student

Post by trancoss »

The j crew Aldens are the same as the regular Aldens, just 200$ more expensive
MARQ
Dig Leader
Dig Leader

Post by MARQ »

Great Boots!!
Gorak
Professor of Archaeology
Professor of Archaeology

Post by Gorak »

That's funny, I just saw these at Jcrew too in San Antonio and even thru the window, I thought they were their Alden Indy's. Even up closer until I saw the tag.
I have a pair of JCrew Suede Indy boots. They are dead on the regular Alden's in terms of fit, quality, style, weight, and design. Except that, in suede, they seem to be a tad "trendier" as my wife and plenty of "cool" kids give me lots of compliments on them.
Cajunkraut

Post by Cajunkraut »

trancoss wrote:The j crew Aldens are the same as the regular Aldens, just 200$ more expensive Image
Well, sorta.