Nylon Whip Making

From falls & poppers to plaiting & cracking technique, this section is dedicated in memory of Sergei, IndyGear Staff Member and Whip Guru. Always remember to keep "Celebratin' Life!"

Moderator: BullWhipBorton

Yoyoyoman35
Archaeology Student
Archaeology Student

Nylon Whip Making

Post by Yoyoyoman35 »

Hey Guys,

I have been cracking whips for about 5 months now, and I wanted to start making my own cow whip. Now I know that everyone loves leather, but I love money and want to keep as much of mine as possible, so I decided that i was going to make one out of nylon parachute cord. I have found a place on the web, www.parachute-cord.com, but I have yet to know how much cord I need, and also how to make the whip. I know basic plaiting, but nothing in field of 12 or 16 strands. I also know nothing about how to make the belly, or the handle. I would really appreciate it if all you pros out there can direct me to a book or website that can help me with this problem, or simply give me some directions though Club Obi Wan. Thanks,

Yoyoyoman35
darksideman13
Field Surveyor
Field Surveyor

Re: Nylon Whip Making

Post by darksideman13 »

I'm not big into the nylon whip making but I do use paracord a lot and I use lapolicegear.com to buy mine from. They are fast and a bit cheaper than that website. Though I will say they don't have near the amount of colors. But lapolicegear has some colors that you would find in a whip. Good luck with this project
Yoyoyoman35
Archaeology Student
Archaeology Student

Post by Yoyoyoman35 »

Thanks, and please talk to anyone you know in Club Obi Wan that could help me!
I really really really need some help :-k
G-Roberts
Archaeologist
Archaeologist

Post by G-Roberts »

Hi,