John Penman - two thumbs up!

In-depth discussion of the Fedora of Indiana Jones and all other hats appearing in the Indiana Jones movies

Moderators: Indiana Jeff, Dalexs

generalFROSTY
Professor of Archaeology
Professor of Archaeology

John Penman - two thumbs up!

Post by generalFROSTY »

I'm a newbie here but one thing being on the RPF for many years has taught me is to do your homework on an important purchase.
The Fedora was no easy task when it came time to decide which one to choose. With so many options and price points available, an uninformed buyer could easily be lured into obtaining a less expensive - and less quality - Indy Fedora and think nothing of it.
I demand a higher calliber of quality and accuracy in the items I choose to include in my collection and as tough as it was to decide on my own on a Raiders fedora, I am very happy to say that thanks to the positive reviews by COW members, I took it upon myself to contact John Penman and had a conversation that has truly put things into perspective for me regarding not only the Fedora, but Indy gear in general.
For those of you that know John, when I say he was EXTREMELY generous with his time on the phone, you will know what I am talking about. John made sure all my questions were answered honestly and accurately. Even though John is a gifted hatmaker, he did not try and push HIS hats in front of everyone elses - he was able to objectively evaluate the hats that I included on my short list as potential buys and in the end, help me decide on which hat was the best for ME as a collector and a fan.
Not since my dealings with Magnoli have I been so taken back by the level of service provided by a vendor. For anyone who has even been toying around with the idea of buying an Indy fedora - or any style of fedora for that matter - would be doing themselves a great favor by talking a little bit with John. He is knowlegable, courteous and more than happy to share his passion with fellow fans.