My 8 foot JOE STRAIN (Not for Sale! :) )

From falls & poppers to plaiting & cracking technique, this section is dedicated in memory of Sergei, IndyGear Staff Member and Whip Guru. Always remember to keep "Celebratin' Life!"

Moderator: BullWhipBorton

Hedji
Archaeologist
Archaeologist

My 8 foot JOE STRAIN (Not for Sale! :) )

Post by Hedji »

Please enjoy these photos of my new Joe Strain 8 foot bullwhip. Actually, it's about 4 weeks old now. This is my first ever whip. You might recall I was musing earlier about selling it to fund a Morgan. That idea has now vanished. I love this whip. It is very addicting, as many of you know. I am a complete newbie with cracking it, but I have learned to do the basic Cattleman's crack pretty well (in my own humble opinion. :lol: ) I am still working on the Flick though. Can't seem to get it to crack, as much as I've tried the drag,push, roll. And for some reason, when I do the overhead crack, I feel the need to duck slightly. Here are some pics. I'm very proud of it.

http://img207.imageshack.us/img207/3334/img1840au8.jpg
http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/7638/img1834sq5.jpg
http://img154.imageshack.us/img154/4572/img1830jo1.jpg
With my Grail I painted:
http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1474/img1835cj0.jpg

And now for some of my concerns/fears/questions:

The fall is looking pretty ragged after only 4 weeks. Here are some pics of what I mean:

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/8920/img1842rt3.jpg
http://img177.imageshack.us/img177/2412/img1832ij2.jpg

I just got my Pecard's conditioner a week ago, and have been conditioning the fall every other use. I am terrified of having to replace the fall. I'm not too confident to replace the popper for that matter.

My question is, is this a sign that I am over muscling it? Am I being to rough on the whip? Can anyone offer any words of encouragement for changing out poppers or falls, or am I better off sending it to Joe Strain when I need the fall replaced?
WhipDude