Discuss all of the intricacies of the jacket in full detail

Moderators: Indiana Jeff, Mike, Indydawg

JedimasterPaul
Dig Worker
Dig Worker

Newbie here - about to order 1st jacket! G&B

Post by JedimasterPaul »

Hello -

just want to start off thankingall the posters here who have been very helpful in informing my jacket purchase.

I wasn't even shopping for a jacket; I was on the US Wings website looking for a pair of aviator sunglasses when I saw the ad for their 'Indy' jacket. I had to have one.

Anyway, after doing a lot of reading, researching, etc - I am 95% decided I am going with the Gibson & Barnes Expedition, primarily because I am buying off the rack and think I will have a better chance of getting a decent fit.

I went to a few stores this afternoon trying on jackets. Most of the leather jackets I tried on in stores were mediums. I tried on the large as well and these fit OK as well. (I think I am on the verge between medium and large). After that, I tried on sportscoats - 40 was OK but tight when I tried to move, 42 was OK, 44 was too big.

Thus, I think I'll go with the 42. Once I call these guys and check on their exchange policy (in case I do not like the fit), I am ready to seal the deal!

I'm leaning towards goatskin, but am willing to entertain some arguments in favor of lambskin. This is the fun part.

I am not really interested in having a jacket that looks like it came off of Indiana Jones right out of the box - I prefer to 'distress' the jacket over time through normal wear and tear.

Thanks!
Rundquist
Museum Curator
Museum Curator

Post by Rundquist »

You chose wisely. :wink:
Ken
Staff Member
Staff Member

Post by Ken »

G+B is a good choice - you'll have a jacket that will last you a life time. If you've any doubts as to size I am sure they can advise you if you give them your measurements

Ken
JedimasterPaul
Dig Worker
Dig Worker

Post by JedimasterPaul »