What kind of fall do you prefer?

From falls & poppers to plaiting & cracking technique, this section is dedicated in memory of Sergei, IndyGear Staff Member and Whip Guru. Always remember to keep "Celebratin' Life!"

Moderator: BullWhipBorton

White hide
90%
Red hide
5%
Other? [Explain]
5%

Total votes: 21

McFly
Scoundrel

Post by McFly »

Red hide or white hide?

Why?

What are the benefits of each? How long have you been using your fall of choice?

I just bought 1 red and 1 white from DM, just to check out the red kind. I've been using whitehide for 2 years, and I thought I'd use the red one just to see what it's like. I hear it's a little less durable?

Shane
IndyWhips
Archaeologist
Archaeologist

Post by IndyWhips »

:D You just can't win with falls, thats why they're changeable...I like red hide or when I can find a decent piece black Latigo....

Tony
Mola Ram
Vendor

Post by Mola Ram »

well,

I've had the same white hide fall on one of my whips for 6 years. And I use it regularly....so. White hide.
BullWhipBorton

Post by BullWhipBorton »

I tend to find myself leaning more towards white hide in recent years but you know it really depends on the actual quality of the fall material itself.

I’ve gotten falls made from both that where terrible and I’ve gotten falls made from both that where excellent. All things being relatively equal though I like the strength and stretch quality that whitehide gives over redhide which is more apt to break as its thinned down. Whitehide falls are a pain to keep clean when your cracking on a grassy lawn though. :lol:

Latigo is another fall material that’s gaining popularity, i think it has a lot of potential.

Dan
WeeMadHamish
Dig Leader
Dig Leader

Post by WeeMadHamish »